Underage drinking and driving laws stiffen in Virginia
Underage drinkers beware this summer — the good ol' days of neighborhood cops giving drunks a lift home are gone. Virginia's pushing harsher penalties for drivers younger than 21, stopped with a blood-alcohol content level of .02 percent or higher, reports the Richmond Times-Dispatch.
Starting July 1, persons found above the .02 level will lose their license and pay a fine of $500 or serve 50 hours of community service if convicted.
Times and societal attitudes are changing, says Chesterfield County Deputy Commonwealth's Attorney Duncan Minton Jr. to the Times-Dispatch.
"Frankly, 20 years ago, if you got picked up after you were drinking a little bit you might have gotten a ride home by the police officer," Minton says.
Va. Sen. David W. Marsden, D-Fairfax, who pushed the measure in the Senate adds, "These drivers are newer, much more susceptible to alcohol even at lower blood-alcohol levels, having a dramatic impact on them physiologically.”
So, noobs plannin on swiggin' bottles this summer — for what would a field party be — plan on walking or taking public transportation home. Your smartphones won't save you.
RecommendedRecent Facebook Activity
Best of TBD In case you missed it
Here's a visual look at the eight most delicious, disgusting meals in the country.
TBD Blogs What you need to read
The Market Report
@TBD On Foot
Only On 7
Now you can get customized weather right down to your street! Plan your day and week ahead with ABC7's Interactive 7-day forecast!